For timely updates regarding the coronavirus and the City of Myrtle Beach’s response, bookmark and check the Coronavirus Advisory webpage. The city is giving restaurants more flexibility for additional signs and tents during the coronavirus emergency. On March 18, 2020, City Manager John Pedersen has signed an order allowing temporary signage and operational rules to help restaurants cope.

The City of Myrtle Beach’s Emergency Management staff is monitoring the coronavirus situation closely and participating in state conference calls with the SC Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).  The CDC and DHEC are mounting an aggressive public health response to identify potential cases early and prevent additional spread where possible.  

U.S. Army veteran and former Pittsburgh Steelers’ running back Rocky Bleier will serve as the Grand Marshal of this year’s Military Appreciation Days Parade on Farrow Parkway.  The parade is sponsored by the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce and begins at 10:30 a.m., Saturday, May 23.  It’s a highlight of the Grand Strand’s month-long celebration of our dedicated military men, women and families for their service.